Responding to the call of ministry- Prophetess Tera Carissa Hodges

Tera Carissa Hodges enjoys being of service to all mankind. An empowerment champion through her speaking, media appearances, coaching, and mentoring, helping people become empowered despite their past and mistakes is her passion. She enjoys serving the community through outreach initiatives and organizations she supports. From her Life Now Luncheons were she encourages women of all ages to press pass their pain and live their best life now, to anti-bullying campaigns for teens, and more, she travels extensively domestically and internationally to minister in speaking, media interviews and more. Her international invites and international media outreach includes: South Africa, England, Ghana, Australia, Bahamas, Kenya, Nigeria, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago and more. Tera has also appeared on numerous national television programs, radio shows, and magazines such as: Essence Magazine, The Word Network, Stellar Award Winning Radio 1000, and more.

We caught up with the prophetess during her 2015 visit to South Africa and from our archived newsletter memories, we managed to archive her journey in ministry.

“I grew up a tom boy, if you can believe that (laughs). I did everything the boys did: play football, kickball, softball, and more. I also grew up less than half of a mile from the church I spent my formative years. So often, on Saturdays, we would walk to youth choir rehearsal, vacation bible school, and more. It really was like the church was literally apart of our yard. Growing up, I thought I would be the equivalent to what Beyonce is now. I knew all of Janet Jackson and Mariah Carey’s songs, would lip sing them and create dance routines with my older cousin, who I regard more as a sister. Again, I grew up with the boys so to speak. So from early on, I saw men as my equals, my peers, people to work with, etc. That has been an essential tool to have in my business career and ministry career. Some women are so intimidated by men. That can’t be. You respect men–and they respect you. But, at the end of the day, we are different, yet equal. In terms of ministry, days can be quite demanding. My day always begins in prayer. Next, emails–lots of them (laughs). On any given day, the ministry receives over 1,000 e-mails. I can’t answer them all but my team and I have devised a system to get through as many of them as possible. Because I also work full-time, I usually get that aspect of my day started around 10 a.m. I am blessed to have flexibility, because my clients respect who I am and what a day in my life can look like. Literally, no day is the same. Ministry has a role in terms of how it manifests in marriage. Marriage is good. It was designed by God. But, it is not the-be all that ends all. You can get married and still not feel fulfilled because God never designed a man to fulfill you. There are places in a woman that nobody can touch but God. That’s why it’s so important to have a relationship with Him, focus on your purpose and your destiny. I counsel women of all ages, walks of life, etc. And, what I can tell you is that while no one gets married to get divorced, nor anticipates their spouse’s pre-mature home going, the women who had a life before they got married, and never lost sight of who God has created them to be as an individual seem to fair better emotionally and mentally after a traumatic separation. This is why Abigail in 1 Samuel 25 was able to move on so quickly after Nabal, her husband died. She recognized, I want a husband–someone who knows how to function in the office of a husband, not a particular person. She moved on logically instead of remaining stagnant emotionally. Much like Jesus, people will look at your age and think that because they are older, they are more anointed. Not so! The anointing is the anointing and is not based on age. If not careful, you will have strong personalities who will want to be out of order and not respect the position God Himself has given you. In that case, pray and let God fight your battles. No one can correct people like God can.”

 

Leave a comment